A fun morning at Farrington’s

Second only to my passion for furniture is my passion for good food! Gaz and I try to buy local, fresh produce where possible.  On the weekends we head out to buy chicken and duck eggs from a lady in South Bristol, and fresh bread from the local bakery.  This weekend we went to Farrington’s Farm Shop in Farrington Gurney to buy fruit and vegetables.  As you can see, we got quite a haul!!

20121013-234728.jpg

We picked up this squash which is a light blue colour!  I’ve never seen a blue squash before but I can’t wait to try it!

20121013-234721.jpg

We also picked up lots of plums and pears which we’re going to use to make flavoured vodka. We usually make sloe gin but the sloe harvest has been particularly poor this year.  I’m therefore looking forward to trying out some fruity alternatives.

The farm shop is like an Aladdin’s cave of amazing food which is either produced on site or sourced locally.  As you can see, Gaz and I spent a lot of time at the cheese counter and walked away with a rather healthy cheeseboard!

20121013-234733.jpg

Perfect for afternoon snacking!

20121013-234739.jpg

As you may know, my third passion in life is animals.  After our marathon shopping spree we had a wander round the farm to see the ducks, chickens and cows.20121013-234708.jpg

I can’t wait to get chickens and ducks myself one day.  They are such lovely animals and I love the idea of having fresh eggs on tap.20121013-234715.jpg

We had a fab time at Farrington’s – food plus farm animals makes for a great morning!

Leave a Reply

