One man’s trash is this girl’s treasure

On my way to work one day, I spotted what I thought was a glass display cabinet in someone’s front garden, with a big sign stuck to it saying ‘take me’. Now I just love a freebie, especially when it comes to furniture!! To my delight, the cabinet was still there on my way home so I raced back to Gaz and asked him to help me collect it.

20120623-122411.jpg

On closer inspection, the cabinet was a lot bigger than it appeared from the road and all the glass had been smashed. It also wasn’t solid wood but had a synthetic veneer. Nevertheless I persuaded Gaz that we should take it home. It was only once we tried to lift the cabinet that we realised how heavy it was! And when we failed to get it in the car, how big it was! Fortunately the owner had a van and kindly offered to drive it back to our house.

I was pleased with my find but Gaz was apprehensive! Worse still, my mum and her partner came over the next day and told me I should bin it. As they are proper antique dealers, I knew it wouldn’t be their kind of thing. However, doubt started to set in. Had I made a mistake? Worse still, the cabinet was so big and heavy I didn’t know how I’d get rid of it even if I wanted to!!

I turned to Annie Sloan for inspiration! Leafing through her fabulous book ‘Creating the French Look’ I came across this armoire:

20120620-221857.jpg

Finally I have a clear vision for the cabinet! It doesn’t matter that the glass is missing, I can replace it with a curtain and create a really lovely French look.

Hopefully it will look as fabulous as Annie’s does!

20120620-221909.jpg

Also, it shouldn’t matter that the wood has a veneer as Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint will cover just about anything! Now I just need to decide on a colour…

I’m so excited to start this project and hopefully turn an ugly duckling into a swan!

I do have one problem however, my house rabbits have discovered the cabinet and it’s their favourite place to sleep!

20120623-123644.jpg

4 thoughts on “One man’s trash is this girl’s treasure

  1. Hannah Morgan says:

    Wow, you should do it that gorgeous blue like the one in the picture. That looks amazing. Definitely a good find, the rabbit looks very happy with it.
    Hannah xx

    • Hello, I’m so sorry for the extremely late reply. I’m ashamed to admit that I still haven’t started this project! It is a huge white elephant in the corner of my garage! But I am resolved to start it very soon and will post an update. Have you started yours?

Leave a Reply

